Pontius Pilate


Rome divided its vast Empire which stretched from the English Channel to the gates of Mesopotamia into Provinces. There were two kinds of Provinces.

  1. There were the senatorial provinces - the older, more settled areas which were administered by the Roman Senate.
  2. And the imperial provinces, less pacified areas where at any time military intervention might be required in order to restore order.  These were under the direct control of the Emperor.